Go to CyberPowerPC Home, Cyberpower - Unleash The Power

Live Help
Need Help? We're here for you.
Order online or Call (800)707-0393
Live chat with a representative
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Power supply - testing for faulty power supply
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Power supply - testing for faulty power supply

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 789
Author
Chrisinhouston View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 Apr 2015
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Chrisinhouston Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Apr 2015 at 10:59am
Not sure how active a thread this still is but this week while reading the morning news with my trusty cup of coffee my CP shut off like a light bulb and won't restart. I checked that the UPS was working and even tried a new power cord plugged directly into the wall bypassing the UPS but the most it will do is turn on for a fraction of a second and then it is off again.

I removed the side access panel and blew out some dust that had collected, not much but still there was some. The green light on the motherboard that says DRAM LED is on.

My unit is a Cyberpower Fang Evo GLC1202
Intel core I7 2600K 3.40 Ghz
PS is a Extremegear XG-P700
VC is Geforce GTS 450
I upgraded the RAM to 2x8gb Corsair Vengence 1600mhz
only other components I added were 3 extra hard drives and a Firewire card.

I purchased this on 11-25-2011 so I've certainly had it awhile and I leave it on for weeks at a time and only shut it down if going out of town. Not sure if that is good or not but there was a time when the boot sector on a hard drive would go out so someone told me to just leave it on.

I have had no problems other then some days it seemed like it was just running and responding slower then usual. I don't do gaming but use it for editing pictures and video as that is my business. Lots of Adobe programs running on a typical day.

I haven't done the paper clip test but may attempt that later today. Thanks for any suggestions anyone can offer.




Edited by Chrisinhouston - 05 Apr 2015 at 11:00am
Back to Top
PlaneGuy View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 20 Feb 2012
Location: Lakeland
Status: Offline
Points: 2649
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote PlaneGuy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Apr 2015 at 1:07pm
Create your own thread and we'll be able to help you. It will get lost in this thread, it's really old.
CoolerMaster HAF 912
Intel i7-3820
Gigabyte G1.Assassin II
EVGA 660ti 2gb SC SLI
256gb OCZ Agility 4
16gb Kingston HyperX
1Tb WD Caviar Blue
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC-_XyQMi7fxYtgczKimW4MA
Back to Top
Chrisinhouston View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 Apr 2015
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Chrisinhouston Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Apr 2015 at 2:20pm
Thanks but I did the paper clip test and the fan ran for 1 second and then went silent. Also I have one of those multiplug testers and when I plugged in the big 22-24 MB plug and turned it on the all but the 5v lit up and then they turned off.
I feel pretty sure it is the power supply
Back to Top
NY gamer View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 27 Mar 2015
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 497
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote NY gamer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Apr 2015 at 2:25pm
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139028

For $70 you can be fixed right up, and learn how to build a pc in the process.   Carefully unplug each end of the power supply cable out and slide out the old psu.

Slide in the new and begin reattaching power cables to areas they go to.  If unsure where each cable goes the power supply manual and motherboard manual will let u know.  IT IS IMPORTANT TO FIND OUT EXACT MOTHERBOARD in your pc.


If any light is on,  that psu is not completely dead, but a capacitor or another part in it may have died or popped.

"That" psu is a generic Asian cheapo,  it only has so many hours of life in it  (less then most).

 



Edited by NY gamer - 05 Apr 2015 at 2:32pm
Professional Reviewer, owner of many pc's
Back to Top
NY gamer View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 27 Mar 2015
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 497
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote NY gamer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Apr 2015 at 2:36pm
You won't need to reseat the cpu or reattach the cpu cooler.  Videocard should not need reseating or the ram....
Professional Reviewer, owner of many pc's
Back to Top
fxgaming View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 03 Apr 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 673
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote fxgaming Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Apr 2015 at 3:55pm
I have changed out PSU in the past, its extremely easy and there are tons of guides and video guides for you to do it. DO not be scared, for safety I got a cheap 2 dollar anti static wrist band while doing it and also i mark whichever plugs I have to pull out, it'll make it easier to know which one to plug back in.

Motherboards usually display which port is which.

Quality PSU also do this.
i7 [email protected] 4.7ghz
EVGA GTX 970 FTW
Corsair 850w CSM
CyberPower Titan X100
ADATA 16GB DDR3 1866
Gigabyte Z97X Gaming 5.
128gbSSD + 1TBHD
Asetek 550LC Liquid Cooler
Back to Top
msduncan View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 14 Feb 2012
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 243
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote msduncan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Mar 2016 at 7:21am
Take a picture of the plugs in the old PSU before you unplug them.   That helps too.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 789
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Hello
Our systems indicate you are located in  .
CyberpowerPC can ship to UK via our UK website.
Would you like to access that region's site?
X