Go to CyberPowerPC Home, Cyberpower - Unleash The Power

Live Help
Need Help? We're here for you.
Order online or Call (800)707-0393
Live chat with a representative
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - CPU temp
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

CPU temp

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
jacksonsnorth View Drop Down
Newcomer
Newcomer


Joined: 26 May 2015
Location: maine
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jacksonsnorth Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: CPU temp
    Posted: 04 Nov 2018 at 5:07pm
here is whats im running at the moment:


OS Name Microsoft Windows 10 Home
Version 10.0.17134 Build 17134
Other OS Description  Not Available
OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation
System Name JACKSON
System Manufacturer MSI
System Model Z1-7641
System Type x64-based PC
System SKU To Be Filled By O.E.M.
Processor AMD FX(tm)-6300 Six-Core Processor, 3500 Mhz, 3 Core(s), 6 Logical Processor(s)
BIOS Version/Date American Megatrends Inc. V17.18B3, 3/13/2014
SMBIOS Version 2.6
Embedded Controller Version 255.255
BIOS Mode Legacy
BaseBoard Manufacturer MSI
BaseBoard Model Not Available
BaseBoard Name Base Board
Platform Role Desktop
Secure Boot State Unsupported
PCR7 Configuration Binding Not Possible
Windows Directory C:\WINDOWS
System Directory C:\WINDOWS\system32
Boot Device \Device\HarddiskVolume1
Locale United States
Hardware Abstraction Layer Version = "10.0.17134.285"
User Name Jackson\charles
Time Zone Eastern Daylight Time
Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 8.00 GB
Total Physical Memory 8.00 GB
Available Physical Memory 4.65 GB
Total Virtual Memory 9.25 GB
Available Virtual Memory 5.82 GB
Page File Space 1.25 GB
Page File C:\pagefile.sys
Kernel DMA Protection Off
Virtualization-based security Not enabled
Device Encryption Support Reasons for failed automatic device encryption: TPM is not usable, PCR7 binding is not supported, Hardware Security Test Interface failed and device is not InstantGo, Un-allowed DMA capable bus/device(s) detected, Disabled by policy, TPM is not usable
Hyper-V - VM Monitor Mode Extensions Yes
Hyper-V - Second Level Address Translation Extensions Yes
Hyper-V - Virtualization Enabled in Firmware Yes
Hyper-V - Data Execution Protection Yes

went into Bios and CPU temp with nothing running as far as games or surfing net, temp was steady at 81c, case temp steady at 24c, and the LED display on front of my case, which i think is case as well , said 38c. 
I tried adjusting some of the fan settings in bios and didnt do much, so set them at original settings and bailed. 
my next process is to take out CPU and fan and clean them up, reinstall them with fresh thermal paste and hope for lower temps. if not , what should i do from there? any ideas on what my issue may be or what i should be checking next? 

Back to Top
GAN1957 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 26 Jul 2011
Status: Offline
Points: 12323
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote GAN1957 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Nov 2018 at 5:28am
You need to list your system specs. We have no idea how many fans, what CPU cooler your using, what case you have, etc.

With any AMD cpu I suggest a 240mm sealed cooler. A 120mm will just do it if your running push-pull fans. If you do have a 120mm sealed cooler with a single fan, add one to make it push-pull

The large fan based cooler like the EVO 212 are OK and do a good job of cooling. They are heavy though and a support plate must be installed on the MOBO.
Remember valor, honor, independence, family & clan; I do whenever I hear the ceol mor, the "great music" of the Highland bagpipe. I swear upon the holy iron of my dirk that I will not forget.

Back to Top
jacksonsnorth View Drop Down
Newcomer
Newcomer


Joined: 26 May 2015
Location: maine
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jacksonsnorth Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Nov 2018 at 6:35pm
cleaned and installed new thermal compound to CPU. 1 fan rear, 2 top, 1 large left side. CPU temp in bios now at 44c case running around 32c. these temps ok? 





Specifications
Brand CyberPowerPC
Model # GUA440
Manufacturer Color Name Black / Blue
3D Capable No
Accessories Included Keyboard & Mouse, Restore Disc, Power Cord
Audio Type 7.1 High Definition Audio
Blu-Ray Player No
Cache Memory 8 MB L3 Cache
Computer Type Desktop Computer
Desktop Operating System Windows 8.1
Distributor Part Number GUA440
DVI Port Yes
Energy Star Compliant No
Ethernet Technology 10/100/1000 Ethernet
Expansion Bays 4 ( 3 Available ) x External - 5.25" 4 ( 3 Available ) x Internal - 3.5"1 ( 1 Available) x Internal - 2.5"1 ( 1 Available ) Hot-Swap Drive Bays
Expansion Slots 1 ( 0 Available ) x PCI Express x161 ( 1 Available ) x PCI Express x11 ( 1 Available ) x PCI2 ( 0 Available ) x DIMM 240-pin
Graphics Card Type NVIDIA
Green Compliance Certificate/Authority None
Hard Drive Size 1TB
Hard Drive Type Serial ATA/600
HDMI Outputs Yes
Headphone Microphone Jacks Yes
Headphone/Microphone_Jacks Yes
IEEE 1394 Ports No
Long Description CYBERPOWERPC Gamer Ultra GUA440 features the latest Six-Core FX 6300 CPU with GeForce GTX750 1GB graphics that tackles your computing tasks with ease. The system includes 8GB DDR3 and a 1TB HDD provides storage for your digital files.
Media Card Reader No
MFR Included Warranty Type Limited - Does not cover some parts.
Modem No
Operating System Windows 8.1
Operating System Platform Windows
Optical Drive Type CD/DVD Combo Drive
Package Contents Computer, Keyboard, Mouse, Power Cord, Restore Disc
Processor Brand AMD
Processor Speed 3.5 GHz (Max 4.1 GHz)
Processor Type FX-6300
Product Depth (in.) 19.5
Product Height (in.) 17.5
Product Weight (lb.) 32
Product Width (in.) 7.75
S-Video Output No
Serial Port(s) 0
Speakers No
System Memory (RAM) 8 GB DDR3 SDRAM
System Memory RAM Expandable To 16 GB
System Memory Type (RAM) DDR3 SDRAM
TV Tuner No
USB Ports (#) 8
VGA Port Yes
Video Memory 1 GB Dedicated
Wireless Network None


Edited by jacksonsnorth - 06 Nov 2018 at 6:37pm
Back to Top
GAN1957 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 26 Jul 2011
Status: Offline
Points: 12323
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote GAN1957 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Nov 2018 at 5:17am
You have enough case fans.

Not completely what I was looking for. From what I see you have an off the shelf CP system maybe from a third party seller. These are not the way to go at CP. The membership suggests posting before you buy in the build section. Give us a max budget & what the system is for or post exactly what your looking at (all components). We then chime in with suggestions for a solid build with quality components. For instance we "never" suggest the standard PSU. These are junk, have high failure rates and have fried systems. I would look and see what PSU you have. If it is not a name brand seriously consider getting it out or take a chance you may damage your system. Even if it doesn't fry anything. These lower end PSU's often provide uneven power (ripples) which long term is hard on components. Then one day a GPU or something goes out and you have no idea of the cause. Your PSU is linked to everything in your system why would one want a cheap one?

Now back to the point. With an FX series cpu it pays off to have a better than standard cpu cooler. Even a sealed 120mm cooler with a single fan can struggle. What cpu cooler do you have?

Your in range for your temps (above 60c is a concern and near 95c it will throttle back since it is to hot), but they could be better. Download HWImonitor and check your temps. TMPINO will be the core temp. Make sure that is the temp your looking at.

This can also be running slightly high for an idle temp if your system is set to "performance" in the power options. With this setting it keeps the cpu running and won't let it idle down. You should be looking at around 32c idle generally.

If you have a 120mm sealed liquid cooler with a single fan, I would add a second fan to make it push-pull (one fan pushing through the radiator and the other one pulling through on the other side moving air out of the case overall). If you have a standard fan based cooler, consider going with at least the large based fan cooler like the EVO 212. If you have a 240mm sealed cooler it starts being a concern. The pump needs to be in good contact with the cpu to move heat away and into the radiator.




Remember valor, honor, independence, family & clan; I do whenever I hear the ceol mor, the "great music" of the Highland bagpipe. I swear upon the holy iron of my dirk that I will not forget.

Back to Top
jacksonsnorth View Drop Down
Newcomer
Newcomer


Joined: 26 May 2015
Location: maine
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jacksonsnorth Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Nov 2018 at 5:38am
So even though temps were ok at the point i checked bios, the PC ended up shutting down random with no warning or error message. I have stock cooling fan that came on the CPU, no liquid cooler. The PSU is a new EVGA 600w 80 Plus. 
 when in bios i reset to optimal defaults. was this a mistake? I need this PC for my kids and i use it to play an MMORPG i have played off and on for 17 years. (Everquest)
I also noticed that i show 0 rpm on fans in bios, is this correct or do I need to check something else to rectify this?
I have a budget since I am a disabled Vet raising young children again, so less money is better, what CPU do you recommend or what changes would you recommend to troubleshoot this random shutdown issue?
thanks



Edited by jacksonsnorth - 07 Nov 2018 at 5:41am
Back to Top
GAN1957 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 26 Jul 2011
Status: Offline
Points: 12323
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote GAN1957 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Nov 2018 at 5:38am
First thank you for your service!

Resetting the BIOS should not be an issue. First when you got your system did you install the MOBO drivers? You should have received 3 disks. A system restore, a GPU driver and a MOBO driver disk. The MOBO driver disk is the most important. If you didn't run it do so. The GPU drivers should have been picked up with Windows updates. 

If a fan is not connected to the MOBO and you have no add on fan controller you won't see fan speeds. Most fans on the CPU will plug into the MOBO.

Did you download HW monitor to verify temp? Here is the link, just copy & paste. >>>> https://www.cpuid.com/softwares/hwmonitor.html

You should be good with the PSU.

Some things to check. Verify all connections are seated and plugged in. 

Bad RAM can cause all sorts of issues. Try removing all but one stick of RAM and see if the shutdown stops. If it does try one of the other sticks. Or you can download and run Memtest. Another free program that will check the RAM for errors.
Here copy & paste. >>> http://www.memtest.org/  Run about 5 passes.

Random shut downs can also point to GPU problems and often are driver related. Here are a couple of links for some free software to help isolate possible driver issues.

https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/t/74712/how-to-find-bsod-error-messages/

http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/blue_screen_view.html

If this doesn't tell you anything, try You don't have your GPU listed. See what you have and go to the Nvidia or AM website and search for any newer version of the GPU drivers. If available download and do a "clean"install of the drivers. To do a clean install of the GPU drivers use driver sweeper to remove all remnants of any old drivers. "ONLY REMOVE GPU DRIVERS" when you run it. It will have options to remove others so make sure you set it correctly.
Here is the link. >>> https://www.guru3d.com/content-page/guru3d-driver-sweeper.html 



Remember valor, honor, independence, family & clan; I do whenever I hear the ceol mor, the "great music" of the Highland bagpipe. I swear upon the holy iron of my dirk that I will not forget.

Back to Top
jacksonsnorth View Drop Down
Newcomer
Newcomer


Joined: 26 May 2015
Location: maine
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jacksonsnorth Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Nov 2018 at 6:38am
Thank you for your help, i will do all the steps and get back to you. the tough part will be finding my discs, not sure if it came with them, wife bought the PC through Fingerhut. Ill get back to you.
Back to Top
jacksonsnorth View Drop Down
Newcomer
Newcomer


Joined: 26 May 2015
Location: maine
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jacksonsnorth Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Nov 2018 at 7:30am
GPU MSI N750-1GD5/OCV1
My other issue is i cant keep it running long enough to do anything with it. I got into bios and looked at recent temps from restart after it shut down on me and luckily i got out of bios before it shut down again. perplexed. I have Nvidia latest drivers which si what MSI recommend. I really dont know much about MSI Grapics. thanks ill get back to you again after i try pulling mem cards


Edited by jacksonsnorth - 08 Nov 2018 at 7:36am
Back to Top
jacksonsnorth View Drop Down
Newcomer
Newcomer


Joined: 26 May 2015
Location: maine
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jacksonsnorth Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Nov 2018 at 10:07am
So did some major cleaning and tried all the steps like removing mem card etc ....worked for couple hours and random shutdown again....i dont get it.
Back to Top
jacksonsnorth View Drop Down
Newcomer
Newcomer


Joined: 26 May 2015
Location: maine
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jacksonsnorth Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Nov 2018 at 10:09am
ok when i started it back up went into bios and the CPU temp was 61c and climbing....guess maybe that could be my issue? CPU temp causing shutdown? I dont know where to go from here. cant afford another PC right now. thanks for help i guess i will continue to research ND try different things until i get it or give up, whichever comes first. will continue to monitor this thread for help.



Edited by jacksonsnorth - 09 Nov 2018 at 10:40am
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Hello
Our systems indicate you are located in  .
CyberpowerPC can ship to UK via our UK website.
Would you like to access that region's site?
X