New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Inaccessible Boot Device error
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Inaccessible Boot Device error

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
muzzey5 View Drop Down
Newcomer
Newcomer


Joined: 16 Jun 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote muzzey5 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Inaccessible Boot Device error
    Posted: 16 Jun 2019 at 1:57pm
I bought the GMA3800BST from my local Best Buy on Friday. Earlier today I had a windows update come up and decided to shut it the PC down for the update. Upon turning it back on the update failed and are still currently pending. When trying to boot windows I am getting an Inaccessible Boot Device error on a blue screen of death. It won’t let me manually uninstall the updates because they are still pending. I have tried using DISM in the command prompt in the trouble shooter?

How can I fix this problem? Thanks in advance
Back to Top
muzzey5 View Drop Down
Newcomer
Newcomer


Joined: 16 Jun 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote muzzey5 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jun 2019 at 6:00pm
An update on my current situation.

I have followed along with this persons solution since I am almost certain I am getting the inaccessible Boot device blue screen of death because of a windows update. https://linustechtips.com/main/topic/898393-windows-10-inaccessible_boot_device-bsod/

I got as far as get-packages. However when I tried remove-package and then add-packages after downloading the update from the catalog they both resulted in dism error 87. I am not sure where to go from here since I am still stuck in the “recovering you of loop”

Any ideas on what I can do?

All help is appreciated. I wanted to update on the current status
Back to Top
GAN1957 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 26 Jul 2011
Status: Offline
Points: 13004
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote GAN1957 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jun 2019 at 4:44am
Remember valor, honor, independence, family & clan; I do whenever I hear the ceol mor, the "great music" of the Highland bagpipe. I swear upon the holy iron of my dirk that I will not forget.

Back to Top
muzzey5 View Drop Down
Newcomer
Newcomer


Joined: 16 Jun 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote muzzey5 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jun 2019 at 5:06am
Originally posted by GAN1957 GAN1957 wrote:

Did you try rolling back. Here is an older article you may want to try. https://windowsreport.com/roll-back-windows-10-april-update/ 






Because the updates are still “pending” it isn’t allowing me to roll back to a previous version. When I tried windows restore I got error code: 0x80070020

I tied using boot rev commands as suggested here https://wintechlab.com/inaccessible-boot-device-windows-10/?amp

Upon using scanos it said no os was found. I am currently clearing off a flash drive to create a new install from the Microsoft media creation tool.

I plan on calling cyberpowerpc support when they open. Though I won’t proceed with that until I call. The one question I have regarding that process is if by installing the windows 10 created on my laptop will result it windows 10 be deactivated/uninstalled from there when attempting to put it on the desktop.

This is the first time I have ever come across this issue and have desperately been trying to resolve it.

Thank you for the help and hopefully that helps clarify what I have been trying.
Back to Top
lVloobies View Drop Down
Newcomer
Newcomer


Joined: 17 Jun 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote lVloobies Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jun 2019 at 8:36pm
Hey I just wanted to add this here: I have this same PC and it is doing the same thing it sounds like. My PC randomly crashed and then ever since it has been constantly crashing giving the error of inaccessible boot device. It seems it forgot that windows was on there? Let me know if you figure anything out! I’ll let you know if I do as well.
Back to Top
muzzey5 View Drop Down
Newcomer
Newcomer


Joined: 16 Jun 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote muzzey5 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jun 2019 at 9:40pm
Originally posted by lVloobies lVloobies wrote:

Hey I just wanted to add this here: I have this same PC and it is doing the same thing it sounds like. My PC randomly crashed and then ever since it has been constantly crashing giving the error of inaccessible boot device. It seems it forgot that windows was on there? Let me know if you figure anything out! I’ll let you know if I do as well.


I would recommend calling support. I ended up needing to reinstall windows. They provide a good tutorial on how to do so. I am 99.99% that AMD StoreMI is the culprit for this issue. I didn’t reinstall it and have pushed back my windows updates as far as it would let me (July 21st) to avoid the issue reappearing in the immediate.
Back to Top
lVloobies View Drop Down
Newcomer
Newcomer


Joined: 17 Jun 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote lVloobies Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Jun 2019 at 6:42am
Dang, really? They told you there is no way around this other than “nuking” the computer and starting over? I’m pretty dissappointed if so... I would prefer to NOT lose my files.....
Back to Top
muzzey5 View Drop Down
Newcomer
Newcomer


Joined: 16 Jun 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote muzzey5 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Jun 2019 at 6:55am
Originally posted by lVloobies lVloobies wrote:

Dang, really? They told you there is no way around this other than “nuking” the computer and starting over? I’m pretty dissappointed if so... I would prefer to NOT lose my files.....


Yeah, I tried The other solutions given to avail, when I called I was told most likely some system files got corrupted and that it would require a new windows 10 install and nuking it to fix it. I didn’t want to lose my files but it was the only way.
Back to Top
lVloobies View Drop Down
Newcomer
Newcomer


Joined: 17 Jun 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote lVloobies Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Jun 2019 at 7:01am
Ahh that’s rough. Well, I’ll update after work and let you know what happens when I speak with them.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

  • Call of Duty: Black Ops 4
  • Apex Legends
  • Fortnite
  • GTA V
  • Battlefield V
  • Playerunknown's Battlegrounds
  • Division 2
  • World of Warcraft
  • CS:GO
  • Rocket League
  • Battlefield 1
  • Witcher 3
  • League of Legends
  • Shadow of the Tomb Raider
  • Far Cry 5
  • Overwatch
  • Assassin's Creed: Odyssey
185 Based on 1080P
130 Based on 1440P
NA
Click here to know more
3DMark Time Spy is a popular and effective benchmarking tool for rating gaming performance. Frame rate figures show typical performance as tested by UL. The higher the frame rate and 3DMark score, the better the experience. Performance may change with system, driver, and game updates.
Hello
Our systems indicate you are located in  .
CyberPowerPC can ship to UK via our UK website.
Would you like to access that region's site?
X