New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - 32bit in a 64bit world
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

32bit in a 64bit world

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Coffeeman View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 10 Nov 2009
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 46
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Coffeeman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 32bit in a 64bit world
    Posted: 28 Jan 2010 at 11:53am
Hey guys and gals
This might be a silly question but i just have to ask .. Is there any way to run my old 32bit games on my new 64bit OS ??  ... Note that some do work but the vast majority return errors suggesting i contact software companies for 64bit versions .. That is literally impossible as most of them are long dead lol... I'm using Dosbox with the Dos titles , thats working nicely allbeit clunky and tediuos but working .. Any tips or help are greatly appreciated , i dont regret the leap to 64bit but i do hate the thought of abandoning all of these (and im talking HUNDREDS) pieces of gaming history .. I know i could just partition and install an older OS but id prefer not doing that and my gut tells me theres a way to do this... Thnx again!!
Back to Top
MotoriousRacing View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Oct 2009
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 1084
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MotoriousRacing Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Jan 2010 at 12:00pm
I wondered the same thing.  In here is a link to MS compatability chart to see what programs run in Win7.
 


Edited by MotoriousRacing - 28 Jan 2010 at 12:01pm
Speed costs money; how fast do you want to go?

www.core-authority.com for PC help - build UR own

Home Built - i7860; P55A-UD4P; XFX4890; G.Skill 4GB; Corsair 850W; RAID-10
Back to Top
CyberHD View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 22 Dec 2009
Status: Offline
Points: 3980
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote CyberHD Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Jan 2010 at 12:19pm
Coffeeman

Its a big concern for many people, especially gamers. The best places for compatibilities listing is from Microsoft itself. For work-arounds or even fixes, going directly to the software company and checking their forums or even download sections may either give clues or resolution. Other than that, dual-booting OS is the most guaranteed option.
Regards, CyberHD
Tech Support 888-900-5180/877-876-4965
Email:[email protected]
Please email [email protected] for status checks on RMA or repairs.
Back to Top
Rhyalus View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 11 Jun 2009
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 1523
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Rhyalus Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Jan 2010 at 7:09pm
Well, some will and some won't.
 
You can right click on the exe icon and select the compatibility mode that makes sense.
 
Note that this is not just a 32bit vs 64bit thing.  Most of the programs on your PC are actually 32bit (look at everything under /Program Files (x86) on your C: drive.
 
If this really matters to you, it is likely that you are using the wrong OS.
 
Regards,
R
i7-8700K / Gigabyte Aorus 5
Corsair H110i
16GB DDR4 RAM
3TB HDD
1TB WD Blue SSD
500GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2
GTX 1080 8GB
Phantek Enthoo Pro
Back to Top
MotoriousRacing View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Oct 2009
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 1084
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MotoriousRacing Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Jan 2010 at 10:26pm
Originally posted by Rhyalus Rhyalus wrote:

Well, some will and some won't.
 
You can right click on the exe icon and select the compatibility mode that makes sense.
 
Note that this is not just a 32bit vs 64bit thing.  Most of the programs on your PC are actually 32bit (look at everything under /Program Files (x86) on your C: drive.
 
If this really matters to you, it is likely that you are using the wrong OS.
 
Regards,
R
 
Because I have all old games (5+ years or older), I decided to keep my XP from this old PC I am retiring.
 
My new mobo has DualBIOS (I haven't investigated yet), but I hope that when I decide to go with a dual OS setup (Win7-64bit or whatever is next), the DualBIOS will allow me to go to 8Gb RAM down the road and still run XP with 4Gb.
Speed costs money; how fast do you want to go?

www.core-authority.com for PC help - build UR own

Home Built - i7860; P55A-UD4P; XFX4890; G.Skill 4GB; Corsair 850W; RAID-10
Back to Top
Coffeeman View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 10 Nov 2009
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 46
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Coffeeman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jan 2010 at 9:10pm
Just an update for anyone else that might be struggling with this same issue
I stumbled across this   http://www.technibble.com/how-to-create-a-windows-xp-virtual-machine/   which will do the job wonderfully ... What it does is creates a "virtual" machine inside your comp ... You can give it up to 40g on a hd to run and it will install and use whatever OS you give it .... Just being able to play those old games wasnt enough to make me do partitions lol this works just as well even better actually and super easy to set up ... All free
Back to Top
MotoriousRacing View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Oct 2009
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 1084
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MotoriousRacing Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Feb 2010 at 10:08pm
How is this working for you?  All the old games running?
Speed costs money; how fast do you want to go?

www.core-authority.com for PC help - build UR own

Home Built - i7860; P55A-UD4P; XFX4890; G.Skill 4GB; Corsair 850W; RAID-10
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

  • Call of Duty: Black Ops 4
  • Apex Legends
  • Fortnite
  • GTA V
  • Battlefield V
  • Playerunknown's Battlegrounds
  • Division 2
  • World of Warcraft
  • CS:GO
  • Rocket League
  • Battlefield 1
  • Witcher 3
  • League of Legends
  • Shadow of the Tomb Raider
  • Far Cry 5
  • Overwatch
  • Assassin's Creed: Odyssey
185 Based on 1080P
130 Based on 1440P
NA
Click here to know more
3DMark Time Spy is a popular and effective benchmarking tool for rating gaming performance. Frame rate figures show typical performance as tested by UL. The higher the frame rate and 3DMark score, the better the experience. Performance may change with system, driver, and game updates.
Hello
Our systems indicate you are located in  .
CyberPowerPC can ship to UK via our UK website.
Would you like to access that region's site?
X