New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Does paying for overclocking include graphic card?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Does paying for overclocking include graphic card?

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
overclockq View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 Jul 2012
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote overclockq Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Does paying for overclocking include graphic card?
    Posted: 05 Jul 2012 at 4:16am
Hi everyone,

I had a question. I tried to search Google for it but i couldn't find an answer to this question.

If i get the Venom boost 20 percent OC, does it include Graphic card overclock too?

I know it include CPU but what else does it include?

Thanks for the help in advance :).
Back to Top
Rhyalus View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 11 Jun 2009
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 1282
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Rhyalus Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jul 2012 at 4:23am
No - just the CPU.

You can buy cards that are overclocked already, like the EVGA GTX 670, though.

R
i7-3930k / Asus P9X79 Pro
Corsair H100i
16GB RAM
2TB HDD
128 GB Cache SSD
Samsung 840 250GB SSD
GTX 970
CM HAFXM
NewPC?
Back to Top
overclockq View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 Jul 2012
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote overclockq Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jul 2012 at 4:51am
thanks for the fast reply :). So basically it has to have the overclock option for the gpu when selected?
I am kind of new to the whole thing. and i have a new question if i may.

Let's say i get the 20 percent OC, cool master 1000 gold psu, maxed out fan with azza tower case ( black pearl customization pc), then would i be safe to max out the AMD 7850 with the AMD CCC tool? Do you think it would cause any problem generally at the AMD CCC allowable (max) level?

Also as i was searching in google i read that some brands restrict the Bios so overclocking is not possible.

Does Cyberpower do that too? Like would i be able to overclock my gpu if i get a black pearl with 20 percent OC myself?

I understand that it might void my warranty contract but like would i be able do it anyway?

Again thanks a lot for the help :D.

Edited by overclockq - 05 Jul 2012 at 5:36am
Back to Top
Rhyalus View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 11 Jun 2009
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 1282
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Rhyalus Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jul 2012 at 5:40am
If you get an Intel processor with the letter "k" at the end of it (i7 3930k, for example), this means the CPU is not locked down.

If you are so concerned with OC, I suggest that you google for the motherboards that you are considering, and how easy they are to OC. For example, the UEFI BIOS that Asus uses on my P9X79 Pro board is well known for making OC easy. Also, many boards will AUTO OC by 20-50% without you doing anything, but some are better than others. There are articles about this on the web as well.

If you know what you are doing, and/or you are willing to look through the web OC guides, I think having CP do it is a waste of money. You should get the "tuning and performance" plan from Intel (available here as well), which allows you to replace your CPU chip ONCE if you screw it up.

Regarding an OC of the video card, you will need to look that up as each card is different. Personally, I think that rather than OC a video card, I think it is better to buy a BETTER video card... heat and noise annoy me... :-)

R


Edited by Rhyalus - 05 Jul 2012 at 5:41am
i7-3930k / Asus P9X79 Pro
Corsair H100i
16GB RAM
2TB HDD
128 GB Cache SSD
Samsung 840 250GB SSD
GTX 970
CM HAFXM
NewPC?
Back to Top
overclockq View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 Jul 2012
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote overclockq Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jul 2012 at 6:06am
I have done a lot of research but every time i learn about one thing i find another like 5 new thing i need to research :).
I am planning to have cyber power do the 20 percent OC.

Based on my research so far, i think AMD 7850 is very good to OC but still researching :).

I am not really concerned about CPU OC as i rather Cyberpower just do it for me. But i wasn't sure if Cyberpower actually restrict OCing the graphic card from the bios. Is that even possible ? Like can computer manufacturers actually not allow people to
OC graphic card by doing something to Bios?

Also my last question ( hopefully *_* ), if i clean re install windows or decide to upgrade my window in future, will the CPU Overclock ( The venom boost) go away?

Thanks for your helpful replies and sry for asking so many questions :) .
Back to Top
Rhyalus View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 11 Jun 2009
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 1282
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Rhyalus Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jul 2012 at 11:35am
No worries!

Graphics card OC is not done in BIOS. You would need to use a program that worked with your card, like MSI Afterburner or something. This can never be locked out from the BIOS, but not all video cards OC well!

The OC settings are in the BIOS, so a re-install of windows will NOT erase the OC. However, you should store to OC profile in the BIOS so that just in case something happens, you can re-load it.

One quick aside; make sure to download the chipset drivers from the motherboard website, as you will need those when re-installing windows. You will also need the video card drivers.

Hope this helps,
R
i7-3930k / Asus P9X79 Pro
Corsair H100i
16GB RAM
2TB HDD
128 GB Cache SSD
Samsung 840 250GB SSD
GTX 970
CM HAFXM
NewPC?
Back to Top
overclockq View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 Jul 2012
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote overclockq Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jul 2012 at 6:21pm
Thanks :).
Back to Top
collcyber View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 27 Aug 2012
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 19
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote collcyber Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Aug 2012 at 8:59am
i do not think that you GPU will be over clocked when you do you CPU.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down